Written by Evelina StoianNov 21, 2018

Tell us first, 3 interesting things about you.

1. I’m Italian, an atypical one though – to prove that, I moved to Poland. However, not drastically atypical: I love pizza, spaghetti and espresso.

2. It’s more than 30 years I write code, and I’m not even remotely bored. I wake up every morning, and I look forward to start writing some code.

3. I like creating music. Not that I have done much, my production is still a very short list, but I have several ideas in mind. What’s important is that I love the process that makes a motif in my mind evolve, grow, and finally turn into something that I can call a living thing.

How long have you been part of Upstack's Community?

Passively I've been in it for 3 years and more actively in the past couple of months.

 

What's the latest project that you've been working on?

I have several ongoing stuff. Right now, I’m working full time on a mobile app that helps people to quit smoking. As a former and longtime smoker, I have a special feeling about it, it’s like I’m doing much more than just a job. I also spend some time doing occasional maintenance on past projects.

From time to time I’m also involved with the Ray Wenderlich team, sometimes as a writer, others as tech editor. But I’ve also co-authored a book, ARKIt by Tutorials, an amazing experience, definitely not easy, especially when the usual deadlines get closer, and there’s still a lot of work to do J. But I think that’s a constant, regardless of whether we are developers, writers or else.

 

Any accomplishments on the last project, until now?

Learning. Always. On every project.

 

Where's your favourite place to work?

Home. Working remotely since 2004, my place of work has been subject to „upgrades” over the years, from a spot in the bedroom to a corner in the living room, to a small room at my parents-in-law’s, to half of the new home’s laundry room, to my current place, a „dedicated” room, still at my home. Which is getting smaller and smaller month after month, as I keep adding gear...

 

What's your favourite productivity hack?

Flexibility. Specifically, flexible use of time. I don’t stay closed in my room from 9 to 18 every day, leaving the rest of the world outside, I let external events to interrupt me (shopping, kids to/from school, etc.), and then compensate that by working more in the afternoon or evening (and often night too). That gives me the opportunity to sleep a little more in the morning, but, honestly, it rarely happens.

 

What do you do when you need to get creative?

I switch context, if I have another project I work on that, otherwise I do something else, and let ideas come to me, rather than being me trying to chase them. A change of context helps to take some distance and look from a slightly, wider perspective.

 

What's your favourite element in the work you do?

Solving problems, being challenged. I like when I start working on something, and I tell myself „I have no idea how to do this”.

 

What's your favourite thing to do when you’re not working?

Creating music and playing the drums. Also, I like watching movies and TV series.

What's your favourite way to relieve stress?

When I’m alone, I listen to music, play the drums and watch TV. With family, going out, even if just for shopping, is an excellent distraction.

 

What's your favourite joke?

First time I was hired, the very first day, when I got back home, I told my wife: „These are really weird people. They give me a computer, a monitor, a project to work on, and they also pay me!!”